Skip navigation

My father’s superiors in the DOD fought him on many of the later Soesterberg High School renovations. It wasn’t public knowledge, for the DOD had placed Soesterberg Air Force Base (Camp New Amsterdam and all the tiny installations that were collectively called”Soesterberg Air Force Base) on the list of slated base closures. Even when my father unofficially “heard it through the grape vine,” he went ahead with many of the projects as he could. Tearing down the old, dilapidated parts of the school, however, happened before the talk of shutting Soesterberg down, however. I could be wrong, though.

One Comment

  1. oh my. I remember it differently when I was there from 2nd till almost 7th grade.


Leave a Reply

