Skip navigation

There’s this joke that’s really not funny. If France were America, than Belgium would be Canada. Still, there’s a bit of grain of truth. France and America are officially mono-lingual countries, whereas Belgium and Canada are bilingual. Many French and Americans poke fun at their neighbors to the north, and Canada and Belgium has had a history of a tension between the two different cultural groups. Quebec has a separtist movement. And, as for Belgium, they had riots over language in 1968, but for the life of me, I can’t find much of anything about them with simple Google searching in English, and I guess part of the problem is that since I don’t know French or Flemish, I’m probably not using the proper key terms. So, for all of that poking around, all I have to show for my time is this list of online news organizations for Belgium.

Leave a Reply

