Skip navigation

My memories of Belgium consist of a lot of images like the below photo. Open farm land, but kind of empty. I remember my father telling me that the Nazis burned a lot of Belgian forest down, and it’s the reason why, around Cheivers Air Force Base, for example, most of the trees had to be replanted, and ended up perfectly aligned into rows. Still, there’s some thing surreal about the photo below — it’s slightly surreal and perfectly Belgian to my mind.

Creative commons licensed photo uploaded to flikr by Isaac Viel.

Statement of creative commons rights can be found here.

One Comment

  1. I’m glad to see my photo is being used. It really is a beautiful area and I wish I was back there this winter.

    Cheers
    -isaac viel


Leave a Reply

